Irish Food & Drink Writing Awards

Feel free to share:

The inaugural Irish Food Writing Awards, the initiative of journalist and food author Suzanne Campbell, was established to recognise the high quality of food and drink writing in Ireland across print, broadcast and online. This is the first year of the awards and sponsors include: Aldi Ireland, Bord Bia, Invest NI, The Irish Curry Awards, James Whelan Butchers, the National Dairy Council, Pestle + Mortar, Safco Fine Foods and Whelehan’s Wines. Joining the already prestigious list of judges are Xanthe Clay, Andy Clarke, Rachel McCormack, Richard Croasdale, Charlotte Pike, Adrian Miller, Marie-Dominique Bradford and Robb Walsh.

Pictured: IFWA organisers Suzanne Campbell & Paul O’Connor

The judging panel features well-known international names from the world of journalism and food. Already confirmed are René Redzepi of Noma in Copenhagen, writer and broadcaster Jay Rayner, investigative journalist Joanna Blythman, author and food columnist Trish Deseine, chef and author Richard Corrigan, critic Tom Parker Bowles, founder of Saveur magazine Colman Andrews and The Guardian wine writer Fiona Beckett.

Details of the award categories have just been announced and in all categories, entries are accepted from the nominees themselves, or from a third party.  The Irish Food Writing Awards will recognise writing from throughout the island of Ireland. The awards are now open for entries, via the website, until the 31st of May.  The categories are:

Food writing:

Restaurant Writing, judged by Tom Parker Bowles and Xanthe Clay

Recipe Writing, judged by Trish Deseine and Esterelle Payany

Food Writing/Feature Article, sponsored by Bord Bia, judged by Valentine Warner and Adrian Miller

Writing on Sustainability in Irish Food, sponsored by the National Dairy Council, judged by Rene Redzepi and Catherine Mack

Writing on Irish Food Producers, sponsored by Aldi Ireland, judged by Mark Hix

Investigative Writing, judged by Joanna Blythman

Writing on International Food in Ireland, sponsored by the Irish Curry Awards

Food Magazine or Supplement, sponsored by Invest NI, judged by Catherine Pike

Cookbook of the Year, judged by Jay Rayner and Dr Annie Gray

Food Photographer of the Year, judged by Joann Pai

Food Broadcast or Podcast, sponsored by Safco Fine Foods, judged by Nigel Barden

Online Food Writing; this includes blogs and social media, sponsored by Pestle + Mortar, judged by Andy Clarke

Emerging Food Writer of the Year, judged by members of the Irish Food Writers Guild

Outstanding Contribution to Irish Food Writing, sponsored by James Whelan Butchers

Drinks Writing, sponsored by Whelehan’s Wines


  • Wine writing judged by Fiona Beckett and Marie Dominque Bradford
  • Spirits writing judged by Colman Andrews and Rachel McCormack
  • Beer writing judged by Richard Croasdale and Robb Walsh

The awards will take place online at a virtual Awards Event in September. Once restrictions allow, the annual Irish Food Awards will adopt a traditional format of judging meetings and a Gala Awards Ceremony every autumn.

To enter go to their website 

Twitter @Irish_Writing 

Insta @IrishFoodWritingAwards

Sean Mitchell

Author at Pynck

You may also like...

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.